The Bar Association of Anne Arundel County, Incorporated, received its Certificate of Incorporation from the State Tax Commission of Maryland on October 7, 1931.

The initial meeting for the formation of the proposed Anne Arundel County Bar Association was held on Friday, January 2, 1931, in the Circuit Courthouse for Anne Arundel County, located at Church Circle in Annapolis. According to the minutes, 17 founding members were present at this first meeting. James M. Munroe was elected the Association's first president and Albert J. Goodman was elected secretary. President Munroe suggested the adoption of a Code of Ethics, “whereby the client's interests would be primary, and the attorney's secondary."

From this humble beginning in 1931 with 17 members and a Treasury of $63.00, we are now a united group of more than 1,200. Our forbearers would be very proud of our accomplishments as an association, our service to the community, and our service to our clients.

•  Read the history of the Anne Arundel Bar Association, by Melvin Hoffman, past AABA historian.

•  View the list of AABA Past Presidents    

•  View the list of AABA Award Recipients