AABA Represented at Leadership in Law Awards

Since 2001, The Daily Record has presented Leadership in Law awards to recognize the achievements of Marylanders who have made consistent and significant contributions to the legal profession.
At the award ceremony on November 19, the following five members of the AABA were honored:

Sara Arthur
Managing Member, Arthur Law Group, LLC
Sara Arthur founded her firm in 2007. Her practice focuses on representation of clients in the area of real property, particularly land use, condominium and homeowners associations law and property rights litigation. Sara is the treasurer of the Maryland State Bar Association and a past-president of the AABA.

Caroline Ciraolo
Acting Assistant Attorney General, U.S. Department of Justice, Tax Division
In her new position at the Department of Justice, Caroline Ciraolo oversees 370 attorneys and 120 employees to enforce federal tax laws. Previously, she was a partner at Rosenberg Martin and Greenberg, where she formed the Tax Controversy and Litigation practice group.

Rick Jaklitsch
Partner, The Jaklitsch Law Group
Rick Jaklitsch is a personal injury attorney who has been honored by the American Trial Lawyers Association as one the Top 100 Trial Lawyers. He built a four-person office into a nationally acclaimed firm that focuses its practice on helping people injured in car, truck and train crashes, or as the result of nursing home negligence.

Anne Colt Leitess
Chief of the Special Victims Unit, Office of the State's Attorney for Baltimore City
A career prosecutor, Anne Leitess leads the efforts to secure justice for child victims of violent or sexual crimes in the city of Baltimore. Previously, she was Anne Arundel County's first female state's attorney. Anne is the president-elect of the AABA.

Jonathan Shoup
Managing Partner, Shoup and Associates
Jonathan Shoup has a legal career spanning 40 years, which includes work as a prosecutor in the Baltimore City State's Attorney's Office. He founded his law firm in 1987. He also served in the U.S. Army for 30 years, rising from the rank of private to lieutenant colonel.